30th National Convention of Textile Engineers, Kolkata

Release of Annual Technical Volume

The West Bengal State Centre of the Institution in collaboration with National Jute Board, Ministry of Textiles, Government of India organized the 30th National Convention of Textile Engineers and National Seminar on the theme ‘Intervention of Frontier Technologies in Textile and Jute Sector’ during March 03-05, 2017 at Kolkata. The Chief Guest, Prof Asutosh Ghosh, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, University of Calcutta in his inaugural address, emphasized on collaborative research in the field of applied technology which will benefit the society at large. The Special Guest, Mr Arvind Kumar M, Secretary, National Jute Board, Ministry of Textiles, Government of India, highlighted the importance of jute fibre and different technologies associated with jute, such as, jute geotextile, jute agrotextile, jute paper pulp etc. Prof (Dr) G Thilagavathi, Chairperson, Textile Engineering Division Board (TXDB), IEI, while presiding over the function, asserted the importance of technical textile and its application in modern society. Prof (Dr) S K Ghosh, Member, TXDB briefed various activities of IEI and TXDB. Prof S M Chatterjee, Chairman, Textile Engineering Divisional Committee of the State Centre spoke about adoption of automation and robotic control mechanism in textile manufacturing industry for improving accuracy, precision and optimal utilization of energy, time, materials and labour. Earlier, Mr Kashmir Lal Mallik, Chairman of the Centre welcomed the gathering. Prof A K Samanta, Convener of the Convention elaborated the theme of the National Seminar. On this occasion, four Eminent Engineering Personalities, namely, Dr Chandan Chatterjee, Former Director, The Centre for Entrepreneurship Development Government of Gujarat, Gandhinagar; Prof (Dr) Prabir Kumar Banerjee, Former Director, IJIRA, Kolkata and Former Professor and Head, Department of Textile Technology, IIT Delhi, New Delhi; Dr N N Mahapatra, President, Colorant Ltd., Ahmedabad, Gujarat; and Dr S P Mishra, Director, School of Fashion Technology, KIIT University, Bhubaneswar, Odisha were felicitated for their immense contribution to the Textile Engineering profession. Prof (Dr) Prabir Kumar Banerjee also delivered the prestigious Dr B K Chakrabarti Memorial Lecture on the topic ‘Textile and Other Fantasy’. The ‘IEI Young Engineers Award’ in Textile Engineering Division for the year 2016-17 was presented to Dr R Rathinamoorthy, Assistant Professor, Department of Fashion Technology, PSG College of Technology, Coimbatore, Tamilnadu and Mr Santanu Basak, Scientist, Central Institute for Research on Cotton Technology (CIRCOT), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Matunga, Mumbai. A Souvenir of the Convention and the second Annual Technical Volume of TXDB on the theme ‘Rise in New Generation Textiles’ were brought out and released by the Chief Guest and other dignitaries. Vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Ranjan Datta, Honorary Secretary of the Centre. An exhibition on ‘Jute Diversified Products & Technical Textiles’ was also organized on this occasion.